A First Time

January 5 — an ordinary day for most, but a very special and personal one for me. In my mind, there are two reasons why today is so important:

1) It is the day (I guess now I should say evening) of my VERY FIRST blog post. **NOTE: the blogging I did for school does not count.

2) It is also the day (I guess I should say date) when a wonderful man singlehandedly changed my life — another first.

To start with, let’s talk about 1). I consider myself a writer, but over the past few years, I have lost touch with my connection to and passion for writing.

It’s not a cheap way for me to get attention. And it certainly isn’t a reason for me to label myself an artist. I write because it’s a part of who I am — a reflection of my thoughts, my emotions and most importantly, my personality. If you don’t know my writing, then I guess you don’t know me too well either.

What better way to get in touch with my “inner writer” than to start a blog. I thought it would be a great way to begin 2012. It took me a few too many years to get started on this project, but I’m bound and determined to follow through with it.

That’s all I really need to say about 1).  In fact, I should move on to 2), because he is the main reason why I was motivated and inspired enough to start a blog in the first place. Truly, this post is in honour of him.

So, here’s the story of how I met previously mentioned “wonderful man,” and how he “singlehandedly changed my life.”

Back in 2009, I was in a pretty rough place. I hated my job, I hated being single, and in many ways, I hated myself. After a series of embarassing dates, unbearable weeks at work and depressing evenings home alone, I decided I needed a fresh start.

And this “fresh start” meant a fundamental change in my attitude. I promised myself that I would at least try to be happy. By 2010, I had quit my crappy job and gone back to school to take Public Relations. I had also stopped desperately chasing after men (who in this case should be referred to as boys) who were clearly not interested in me in the first place.

And then, I met John. We had met prior to 2010, but that was the year where we had really met. Our very first date was January 5, 2010, and on that particular day, I decided to stop sulking and to start living. I decided to meet for coffee with the one guy who had always appreciated me for who I was.

Our date started from a drunken Facebook message, and it ended with a four-hour conversation at Remedy Cafe. Now, the rest is history.

Today (January 5, 2012), we are celebrating our two-year anniversary as a couple, and by the end of this year we will be married.

To those of you out there who have given up on life, remember, there’s a first time for everything. For me, it happens to be a blog and a wonderful man who I can blog about.

4 thoughts on “A First Time

Leave a Reply

