All Things Grateful

At times, I can be a complete pessimist. And while it’s not a trait I’m proud of, I know how easy it can be to focus on the negative rather than look at the bigger picture.

As a step towards improving my outlook on life, I would like to share a basic list (in no particular order of importance) of all things for which I am grateful:

1) My family. It speaks volumes when your parents invite you every Sunday night for dinner, a tradition I hold dear. At least once a week, I get to spend time with my Mom, Dad, sisters, brother-in-laws, niece and nephew—all who love unconditionally.

2) My fiancé. Honestly, I never thought it would happen for me.  I still can’t believe I’m marrying John, my perfect match, in 7 months!

3) My friends. I remember the days when I used to sit beside the phone waiting for someone, anyone to call. Now, I can’t stop the phone from ringing. I’ve made some incredible friendships this past year, and the existing ones have only grown stronger.

4) My first trip to Europe. Thanks to my dear Aunt Cindy, I had the opportunity to travel through Europe (Italy and Greece) this past May. I will never forget the breathtaking sites and memories shared. It was a trip of a lifetime for which I will always be thankful.

5) My current job. While it’s not perfect, it’s a step in the right direction. I’m happy to have a job, that in the very least, is related to my field of interest.

6) My/our Juke. What a relief to have a car that actually works! Since when did I enjoy driving? Clearly, since we bought the Juke.

7) My/our apartment. It’s not a house, but for us, it’s the next best thing. After a freezing cold week (like this one past), there’s nothing better than coming home to a warm and comfortable apartment.

8) My adopted family. This of course includes John’s family and his two adorable kitties (Spike and Shadow). Sadly, some people don’t have a family to call their own, but I am lucky enough to have two. And maybe even three if you count my best friend and her wonderful family.

9) My health. I’ve accepted the fact that I will never be 100% healthy (due to certain factors), but I’m alive and well, and for that, I am grateful.

10) My relatives. I’m fortunate enough to be close with all of my immediate relatives, both in distance and relation. While it’s getting more difficult for all of us to stay in touch, we still visit each other on a fairly regular basis.

Here’s a toast to a life, that in spite of its challenges, I can call pretty amazing.

Cheers!

One thought on “All Things Grateful

  1. Dear Paige. What another great piece of writing. I am in full agreement with comments. Thank you for including our first trip to Europe. I too, thought it was enlightening and a most wonderful experience that I will also cherish. Keep up the fine work.

Leave a Reply

