Guilty Pleasures

Is it bad that tomorrow night, I’m looking forward to watching The Bachelor? Is it even worse that a “Paige treat” on my next grocery trip will likely be a copy of US Weekly?

At this point in my life, I’m too old to try to be someone other than myself. But for some reason, I’ve always felt the need to cover up my guilty pleasures—or in other words, those interests or hobbies of mine that are just plain embarassing.

A wise man (perhaps my fiancé) once asked me, “If you’re too embarassed to admit it, is it really something you should be doing?”

And I can finally answer with absolute confidence: YES! In fact, I think it’s perfectly OK to realize that, in spite of being an intelligent person, you enjoy things that are completely mindless.

For me, I think it’s a way to decompress. When I come home from work, the last thing I want to do is think. I would much rather be amused and entertained than intellectually stimulated.

I can honestly say that The Bachelor, with all of its cheesy ballads and shameless women, can succeed at putting a smile on my face. And US Weekly magazines, which are basically loaded with gossip and celebrity trash, are at times more enjoyable than a good piece of literature.

Every Friday night, when I’m not busy with friends, I religiously watch wedding shows on TLC (which by the way, should NOT be referred to as ” The Learning Channel”). Four Weddings is my favourite, and Say Yes to the Dress comes in a close second. As tacky as those wedding shows can be, they have  provided me with great inspiration for my own wedding coming up in August!

And when I’m not reading trashy magazines or watching junky reality TV, I’m most likely listening to my music, which is not of a genre most would expect. If you browse through my iTunes library, you will find that 50% of the music on there is either rap or hip-hop.

It’s a bit strange to picture Paige and rap in the same sentence, but I feel I can relate to that type of music (and not in the, “Paige grew up in the ghetto” or “Paige had a rough life” kind of way). Any time I hear hip-hop or rap, I just want to dance! And I can’t think of a better way to feel when I’m listening to music.

So, there you have it—just some of the many guilty pleasures of mine. I encourage all of you to reveal yours to me—you know, just so I’m not the only one.

7 thoughts on “Guilty Pleasures

  1. But if you’re making a blog post about it, are you really too embarrassed to admit that you do it? I think you’re just proving my point 😉

  2. Another very interesting and entertaining article. My teacher proofreading instinct suggests you check your spelling of favourite(following reference to the Four Weddings sentence)(looks like the t is missing). Congratulations on your creativity., Love reading your pieces. Love Auntie Cindy

Leave a Reply

