Attraction

On the topic of love, I’ve been thinking lately about another crucial part of relationships: attraction. You know, the mutual feeling you share with someone where you just want to…(I’ll let you fill in the blanks).

I definitely believe the physical component is essential to a successful relationship. But I also know that much like love, it’s the part that fades out quickly if not treated with attention and care.

Today, I went shopping and bought a super hot outfit, boots and all. And while it was kind of overpriced and impractical, I know how important it is to remind myself that I am sexy – if not for me, then definitely for my partner.

The thing is, there’s always an excuse to let yourself go or to stop caring. This is especially true when you’ve been in a relationship for quite a few years – and I’m not even there yet!

“Oh, I don’t have to shave my legs, he won’t care anyways.”

OR

“Why should I buy a cute new outfit when I have a million others?”

OR

“Who cares about what I eat or whether or not I exercise, he’ll love me anyways.”

OR (likely the most common one)

“I’m waaay too tired for this tonight.”

I don’t have much experience with relationships, but I do know that I want my marriage to last. I don’t want to be part of that 50% statistic that ends up divorced.

And while learning to love and understanding the meaning of it is half the battle, the other half involves basic attraction and  keeping the spark, at the very least, flickering.

Image

3 thoughts on “Attraction

  1. It’s a good point, but I’m not sure I completely agree.

    It’s important to keep a relationship exciting and fresh, but I don’t think that necessarily encompasses things like shaving your legs, buying a new outfit or eating right/exercising.

    Don’t get me wrong, those things are all important, but I do each and every once of those things for myself. My partner and I have been together over two years now and I’m still as attracted to him as ever (and vice versa).

    I eat right because it makes me feel great, and exercise is an important part of my life for the benefits I get from the endorphins and the sense of accomplishment. But I would much rather get my guy tickets to a show he really loves or initiate sex with little to no preamble and catch him off guard to keep things interesting.

    I guess I see the “spark” as being more about intrigue and excitement than attraction. I’d love him for who he is regardless of what he looks like, and I know he feels the same way. Know what I mean? Agree/disagree?

    • Hi Kylie! First of all, thank you for following my blog. I’ll be sure to check out yours too 🙂 And secondly, you make a great point. While I believe attraction is a part of that “spark” in relationships, I also believe it’s about the intrigue and excitement that comes through our actions.

      I think the main point I’m trying to get at here, no matter which way you look at it, is that relationships take effort in order to succeed – even in the physical (and perhaps superficial) sense. My fiance, too, will find me attractive regardless of what I look like, but that doesn’t mean I should stop caring or get lazy – even about the seemingly insignificant physical things.

Leave a Reply

