Don’t Forget

“Don’t forget to breathe.”

It’s such a true statement, and I believe I heard it from my co-worker a few weeks ago. Where the quote actually comes from, I’m not too sure. We get so caught up in stress, negativity and circumstance that we forget to just stop and take everything in.

Last weekend, my best friend got married, and to be quite honest, I feel like I missed half the wedding even though I was there through it all. I was so nervous, anxious and mildly nauseated (probably due to stress), that I only have bits and pieces of it left in my mind.

And what an incredible day it was! If only I could remember those little details like how dinner tasted or the reaction on my dear friends’ faces when they read their vows to each other or some of the conversations I had with the many wonderful guests who attended. Yup, I definitely forgot to breathe.

Sadly, that wouldn’t be the first time. I look back and think of all those milestones that I waited what seemed like a lifetime to achieve: my first job, my first kiss, my first apartment, my first post-secondary degree…and the list goes on. Do I remember those special moments in time? Perhaps. But did I truly embrace them all? Probably not.

I guess, in a bigger sense, that’s what breathing is all about. It’s not just the oxygen that sustains us, but it’s a matter of living life to its absolute fullest, and absorbing what you possibly can out of every situation, good or bad.

More often than not, I’ve let a stomachache, a bad mood or miserable weather interfere with life. Or in other words, I’ve let the small stuff distract me from enjoying the moments that make my life worth living.

Sometimes, we all forget to breathe, but the great thing is that we have the power to get the air back.

Image

One thought on “Don’t Forget

  1. I totally know what you mean. I’m always teetering at events, trying to find the balance between capturing the moment and living the moment. It’s a difficult balance to strike! Hopefully you and I can both find our breathing comfort zone 🙂

Leave a Reply

