Timed Choices

Today, I went furniture shopping with my husband. It sounds like a pretty typical Saturday afternoon activity, but to me, it felt surreal.

For one, I never, in a million years, thought I would be buying furniture for my new house! And second, I’m still, after almost a year, amazed that I managed to marry such an incredible guy.

I think it’s important to remember where you are and how you got there—especially in those moments when you’re feeling down about life. I wouldn’t say I believe in fate, but I do believe in a perfect alignment of choices, timing and circumstance.

Back in 2008, when my job at the time was boring me to tears, I made a seemingly small decision to volunteer on the side for a local feminist magazine. I thought it would be a great way to get in touch with what I loved most: writing.

From that experience, I met another creative soul,  just like me, who two years later became my boyfriend, and two years to follow, my husband. What started as a minor, but well-timed choice, turned into everything that matters to me. Or at least in my personal life.

In 2009, I was so frustrated with said boring (and soul-crushing) job, that I quit and went back to school to take Public Relations. Again, what seemed like a common decision to further my education turned into one of the most defining moments of my career.

Because of that program, I recently decided to get involved with the Edmonton chapter of a professional association called, the International Association of Business Communicators (IABC). By serving as a board member, I built the necessary connections and stumbled across the right opportunity at the right time to get me my current job.

And for once, I feel like I’m in a position I care about, rather than one I fell into. I work with others who inspire me to learn and grow. I write about matters that indirectly have an impact on people. Furthermore, my current job has allowed me and my husband to not only buy, but build, the house of our dreams together.

I couldn’t be happier, and truly, I have myself and a series of choices to thank. I feel like the luckiest woman alive, yet it has nothing to do with fate.

choices

 

Leave a Reply

